Four Freedoms

By Roosevelt Institute |

dictionary-150 What are the Four Freedoms?

The Four Freedoms were a concept laid out in President Roosevelt’s 1941 State of the Union address, also known as the Four Freedoms speech. They include freedom of speech and expression, freedom of religion, freedom from want, and freedom from fear.

What’s the significance?

This speech was significant in that FDR went beyond the regular freedoms insured by the constitution and claimed these new rights as American values. They became symbols for Americans to rally around during the turbulent times of World War II. To the citizens of that time period, striving toward these freedoms distinguished the country from fascist nations. The Four Freedoms have continued to act as inspiration for citizens and political leaders to this day.

Who is talking about them?

Harvey J. Kaye argues that modern liberals lack vision, unlike FDR… David Woolner explains the historical importance of the Four Freedoms and their present day relevance… The Times Union gives an explanation of the significance of the paintings inspired by the Four Freedoms.

The Roosevelt Institute brings together thousands of thinkers and doers—from emerging leaders in every state to Nobel laureate economists. We reimagine the rules that guide our social and economic realities. Follow us on Twitter @rooseveltinst and like us on Facebook.