Roosevelt Awards & Research Grants

The Roosevelt Institute has long recognized the outstanding achievements of those whose lives exemplify the values and legacy of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt.
The Four Freedoms AWARDS

Each year, the Roosevelt Institute awards Four Freedoms Medals to individuals who exemplify President Roosevelt's vision of the Four Freedoms – people who demonstrate their commitment to that vision through their life and work. The Institute sponsors medal ceremonies in alternate years in the United States, recognizing American achievement, and in Middelburg, The Netherlands, recognizing international achievement. The ceremonies are invariably impressive, deeply moving, and provide a unique opportunity to understand the forces that form and motivate exceptional public figures. 

Among the laureates have been Presidents Truman, Kennedy, Carter, and Clinton, Nelson Mandela, the Dalai Lama, Aung San Suu Kyi, Cornel West, Carlos Fuentes, Princess Juliana of the Netherlands, Studs Terkel and many more. Click here to learn more about the 2013 Four Freedoms laureates or click here to view the full list of past laureates.

The FDR distinguished public service awards

An award for those who demonstrate a lifetime commitment to outstanding public service, the FDR Distinguished Public Service Award celebrates national leaders from all areas of civil society. First presented to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid in 2008, the Award has provided occasion to reflect upon the values that inspire leadership and public service - values that Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt exemplified throughout their lives. Click here for more on the 2013 FDR Distinguished Public Service Awards.


Presented jointly by the Roosevelt Institute and the Society of American Historians, the Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. Award commemorates a lifetime's achievement by a distinguished historian whose work is of enduring public significance.  Established in 2008, the Award was first presented to William E. Leuchtenberg, the William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor Emeritus of American History at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.  Joyce Oldham Appleby, Professor Emerita of History at the University of California, Los Angeles, received the second Schlesinger Award in 2009.  In 2010, the Award will be presented to James MacGregor Burns, Woodrow Wilson Professor Emeritus of Political Science at Williams College.  

Research Support Grants

The Roosevelt Institute supports a program of small grants-in-aid, not to exceed $2,500, in support of research on the “Roosevelt years” or clearly related subjects. Grants are awarded at the beginning of each year. The deadline for grant submissions is November 15. Funds are awarded for the sole purpose of helping to defray living, travel, and related expenses incurred while conducting research at the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library Presidential Library. The grants program is particularly designed to encourage younger scholars to expand our knowledge and understanding of the Roosevelt period.  For more information on the grants-in-aid program or to apply, please visit the Roosevelt Library website.