2023 Four Freedoms Awards


2023 Four Freedoms Awards Laureates

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi

Freedom Medal

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, speaker emerita of the US House, was honored with the overarching Freedom Medal for her lifetime of service to our nation. As the first woman to serve as Speaker of the House, she has inspired countless women and girls across the nation, and her legislative contributions have shaped the political landscape and left a lasting impact.

Tracie Hall

Freedom of Speech and Expression

Tracie Hall, executive director, American Library Association, was honored for defending libraries, advocating for literacy, and working to preserve and expand equal access to information.

Dr. Walter Earl Fluker

Freedom of Worship

Dr. Walter Earl Fluker, Martin Luther King, Jr. professor emeritus of ethical leadership, Boston University and dean’s professor of spirituality, ethics, and leadership, Emory University, Candler School of Theology, was honored for carrying on the legacies of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Howard Thurman—from helping students navigate the ethical questions of today to being a thought leader for Black churches.

Ady Barkan

Freedom from Want

Ady Barkan, creator of the Fed Up campaign and founder & co-executive director of Be A Hero, was honored for his unapologetic work fighting for freedom from economic want and for a more just health-care system in the United States.

The Honorable Bennie Thompson

Freedom from Fear

The Honorable Bennie Thompson, US House representative, was honored for his leadership skills and courage as chair of the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol.

About the Four Freedoms Awards

The Four Freedoms Awards are presented each year to people whose achievements have demonstrated a commitment to those principles which President Roosevelt proclaimed in his historic speech to Congress on January 6, 1941, as essential to democracy: freedom of speech and expression, freedom of worship, freedom from want, freedom from fear.

Past recipients of the Four Freedoms Awards have included international luminaries such as Nelson Mandela and the Dalai Lama; organizers and visionaries like Ai-jen Poo, Deepak Bhargava, and Bishop William J. Barber II; Supreme Court Associate Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and then-Vice President Joe Biden.

For more information, please visit this page of our website.