Franklin D. Roosevelt Distinguished Public Service Awards

Date & Time

May 21, 2019 6:00 PM

The Franklin D. Roosevelt Distinguished Public Service Awards honor individuals whose careers exemplify President Roosevelt’s extraordinary dedication to public service and seek to inspire a renewed national commitment to the principles for which FDR stood.

Change can take a lifetime, and these men and women have dedicated their lives to the public good, never limiting themselves to what seemed possible when they began. Each year, we celebrate their courage, commitment, and values.

We hope you will join us in recognizing our 2019 honorees: Chairwoman, Maxine Waters and Communications Workers of America President, Christopher M. Shelton.

Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi will be joining us as we recognize our 2019 honorees and pay a special tribute to the leadership and vision of the late Edwin D. Hill, President Emeritus of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.

Past DPSA Recipients


SEIU President Mary Kay Henry President

Senator Chris Murphy


The Honorable Sherrod Brown

President of the American Federation of Teachers Randi Weingarten

Dr. Ernest Moniz


AFSCME President Lee Saunders

Congressman Keith Ellison

US Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Gina McCarthy


Senator Elizabeth Warren

Congressman Xavier Becerra

President Edwin D. Hill


Senator Tom Harkin

Congressman George Miller

Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro


The Honorable Barney Frank

International Brotherhood of the Teamsters President James P. Hoffa

The Honorable Chris Dodd

US Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa P. Jackson


Senator Jeff Bingaman

Senator Richard Durbin

AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka


Congressman John Dingell

Senator Thomas Daschle